How to Mark a Pet as Deceased
Last updated: August 28, 2026
If your pet has died, you can mark them as deceased in your account and keep their photos and records, rather than deleting their profile entirely.
This keeps the profile and its records. If you want to remove a pet from your account entirely instead, see how to delete a pet.
To mark a pet as deceased, follow these steps:
On the pet's profile, click the Edit My Pet button.
Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Mark As Deceased or Delete Profile button.
Click the Mark Pet as Deceased button, read the warning, and click the Mark as Deceased button.
We're very sorry for your loss. We hope the memories you and your pet had together will bring you comfort. After marking your pet as deceased, you can access its profile information, records, documents, and photos within the My Past Pets section of Settings.